Add users

Get help with installing, upgrading and running Asterisk.

Moderators: muppetmaster, Moderator, Support

Add users

Postby urvthme » Mon Sep 15, 2008 11:33 pm

Hi all,

I am new to asterisk and do not know how to create users in asterisk. I followed the guide and added 2 users in the sip.conf. I have to add some 50 users and the sip.conf file does not look like the right place to hold so many users. Also, is there a database (mysql) needed?


Presently with the 2 or 3 users added in the sip.conf file, I am able to register but not able to call. Asterisk is sending back 404 User not found.

How to solve this?

Thanks in advance,
Padmaja
urvthme
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 11:22 pm

Postby alfredko » Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:32 am

Hello,

after you insert new sip accounts into sip.conf you need to reload sip, on the CLI you need to type:
Code: Select all
*CLI> sip reload


you can store all the accounts as well into a database, you need to install the asterisk addons, a good place to start is: http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/Asterisk+addon+asterisk-addons

on our website we have also some tutorials how to install Asterisk with the addon package: http://www.astertools.com/tutorials

all the best,
Alfred
alfredko
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 2:14 am

Postby COpeter » Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:54 am

To be able to call you will need:

    Users confined in sip.conf
    Dial plans in sip.conf
    extensions for users confined in extensions.conf


you might want to try that mysql though.

also a good database might be LDAP. (i use it currently and i got it working quite nicely)
COpeter
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:19 am


Return to Asterisk Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 17 guests